Transgender Surgery: Big Bang For Your Buck?

We are seeing so much more about transgender surgeries in the news these days.  I personally don’t know any transgender individuals (at least, I don’t think I do), so it can be difficult for me to understand their plight based on folks I occasionally read about or see on TV.

Take, for instance, Chaz Bono.  He seems to be so much happier now that his gender reassignment surgery is almost complete.  (And of course, those of you who are in an arrested state of emotional development, like me, know that the final procedure is called an “add-a-dick-to-me”).  It seems amazing that the medical community recognized long ago (like forty years, at least, I think) that transgender identity issues were real, and that they required real actions, such as surgeries, hormone treatments, psychological counseling, etc., to be addressed.

Considering the transgenders’ plight led me to think of others who are also trapped in the “wrong” body, so to speak; other folks who’d also like to be transformed.  What about morbidly obese people, or shut-ins?  What about people who are just exceptionally homely?  Not disfigured, or handicapped, which might have gotten them some medical intervention early on, but just plain old (as a good friend of mine used to say), “Got hit big time with the ugly stick”.

When have we seen a (known) transgender surgery result in someone who seemed drastically different from how the person was before-hand?  We have to assume the biggest alterations are private; and frankly, that’s good.  With the male-to-female transitions, sometimes it’s so gradual, and the individual was fairly effeminate to begin with, that there may not seem to be much of a “ta-da moment” after all the procedures are finally said and done.

What would be really compelling would be if we got to see DRASTIC “before and after” pictures of transgender surgeries, like a short, pudgy bald guy transformed into a tall, willowy, blond pole dancer.  (Let me just say here that I’ve done ZERO research on this topic; all this “MySpew” is based on what I’ve got in the ol’ data banks.  So I apologize if I offend anyone.)

Then we get the curve balls (no pun intended) like that female-to-male transgender guy in the news a couple of years ago, who before he got his uterus ripped out, decided he’d get pregnant and pump out a couple of kids.  (Some people will do anything to get out of breastfeeding.)  In this type of situation, I have trouble understanding the changing love/romance/attraction dynamic in his relationship with his partner.  OK; let me try to understand:  here’s a girl who wants to be a guy (let’s call her “Don”), but Don’s still a girl (until she gets her sex change operation), and she’s had a girlfriend for years.  So, her girlfriend is a lesbian, right?  Who thinks she’s with a lesbian, also, right?  So, when Don goes through with his operation(s), why would his lesbian girlfriend still want to be with him?  And yet the girlfriend stays, and she and “Don” are raising two kids together.

Please….my brain stem hurts.  I understand transgender, I think.  I understand gay, straight and bi (I think).  I just don’t understand the non-transgender half of a couple staying after the object of his or her affections goes through transgender surgery.  I guess true love must transcend all.

Ah, romance is such a mystery.

This entry was posted in Funny Irreverent Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Transgender Surgery: Big Bang For Your Buck?

  1. Marion says:

    The non-trans half of a couple sometimes does leave. However, the non-trans half of the couple sometimes stays because there is such a thing as pansexuality. That means, as opposed to just being attracted to males and females (as bisexuals are), pansexuals are attracted to ALL genders – transgenders, bigenders, genderqueers, etc. It is basically being in love with the person for their soul, not their gender. THAT is why the non-trans person often stays.

Leave a Reply

