Talking Heads Speak To Me

I often think about how young people process the pop music they are exposed to.  I rant to my son about how much crap is out there now, and there is, but we certainly had our share of crap music when I was young, too.  And I acknowledge that to him, as well.  I have no problem calling crap crap!  (As some of you know, it’s my specialty.  I put the “scat” in “scatology”.)  All that being said, I think there is much more crap (relative to the total amount of music out there) than there was when I was a kid.  The standards do seem to have slipped.

I remember my father in the 70’s (a classically trained violin / viola player) ridiculing K.C. and the Sunshine Band’s song “Get Down Tonight”, which he knew I liked.  It’s funny to think of my fifty-something balding, pudgy physicist father making howling sounds to accompany the music on the radio.  (“Get down, get down, get down, get down, get down to-night bay-bay, ooooooo ooooooo oooooooo oooooooo ooooooo ooooooo oooooooo oooooooo ooooooo ooooooo oooooo!”)  After my dad howled, he would cackle with laughter.  It really used to piss me off.  (And now I do the same thing to my son.  It’s fun!)  I have to admit, sometimes I hear K.C.’s song played on the 70’s satellite radio station, and now that the rose-colored ear muffs of youth are stripped away, I can hear that he really did suck.

********************************

I was just listening to “Born Under Punches” from Talking Heads’ Remain In Light CD.  This is “pop” music that has stood the test of time…..I never get tired of listening to these guys, or David Byrne:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ilcD1fHcGB0

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

