A Tribute to Pinkham, Arnstein, and Barnes

Pinkham, Arnstein and Barnes“…..that sounds like a wonderfully diverse law firm, but it’s not.  Let me explain.

Nan Arnstein was the director of my local community chorus (the Glastonbury Chorus) for many years, and she enabled me to be part of a group that has enriched my life immensely.  She was a wonderful director, and I’m proud to call her my friend.

Barbara Barnes was our chorus’ talented accompanist for many years, as well, until health issues caused her to step away from the position.   I have not been in touch with her, but think of her, and will never forget her incredible touch on the piano.  I remember telling her how her rendition of Braham’s “How Lovely Is Thy Dwelling Place” ripped my heart in two; it was so emotive.  (Well, maybe I didn’t use those exact words, but I do believe I got my message across.)

For one holiday concert several years ago, Nan decided that we’d tackle Daniel Pinkham’s three-movement “Christmas Cantata”.  I was not familiar with the composer, or the work, and it seemed quite daunting.  But I grew to to love the pieces, and found that the entire chorus was up to the challenge.  With Barbara Barne’s beautiful piano accompaniment, I thought we gave a good performance, and it was quite a thrill to do something that seemed so impossible at first.  Plus, it was all in Latin.  Which is all Greek to me.

Unfortunately, I do not have a recording of our performance of the three-movement piece.  But, I invite you to watch a (ten minute) YouTube video I whipped up using pics of the composer and comforting winter scenes, with musical accompaniment from Concora’s “Christmas In Our Time” CD.  When you listen to the three movements in succession, it is an uplifting experience.

Please don’t forget to visit and LIKE the Glastonbury Chorus’ FB page, https://www.facebook.com/pages/Glastonbury-Chorus/161326910613309 , or visit our official website:  http://www.glastonburychorus.org .

Also, I encourage you to visit the website of the organization (Creative Arts For Developing Minds) that Nan Arnstein founded when she left the chorus:  http://creativeartsfordevelopingminds.org/Home_Page.html

Happy Holidays to you all, and I wish you peace and good health in the coming year.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

