Getting My Mind Around Yoga (Again)

In the old photo to the left, even my niece and her cat seem to be doing yoga.

For quite a time I was (and will be again) very devoted to a yoga DVD series by Baron Baptiste.   (In case you were not aware:  he is The Man, folks.)

Recently I got myself to do a yoga session, and right away, I realized my mind was not fully engaged.

One of the first things Baron instructs you to do is stretch your arms out before you and “gaze at your fingertips”.  It is at this time that I have the epiphany that I am long overdue for a manicure.

During the bridge pose, it occurs to me that I don’t feel “at one” with pinto beans at all.

A little later, during simultaneous head and leg raises, Baron says, “soften your belly”, to which my mind immediately screams, “It already is, that’s the problem!”.  Then Baron:  “If your neck is straining, and you need to cradle your head, you may do so at this time”, at which point I yelled, “What if I need someone to cradle my whole body at this time?”

I really do believe in muscle memory, though, and have faith that mine will remember what they need to do once I tap them to do so.  That’s more than I can say about my actual memory.

One final thought:  medication vs. meditation.  Just one letter off.  I am ~this~ close!

This entry was posted in Funny Irreverent Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Getting My Mind Around Yoga (Again)

  1. totsymae1011 says:

    I have this one (Rodney Yee’s Yoga for Beginners (2009) but I don’t like it much. It’s tooo slow and a lot of talking. I don’t need anything over my head but something, at least, to engage me more than the one I have.

Leave a Reply

