Everything Is Going To Be OK, NOW, RIGHT?

The nation has really outdone itself.  We’ve regressed to such an infantile state that we can’t manage our own public safety (or even discourse) any more.  I hope and expect that the last horrific mass murder will finally bring about some good and permanent change for our society.

These are two images I find comforting that I’d like to share with you, appropos of nothing, other than to provide amusing distractions:

During a very stressful situation - my kid's front tooth was knocked out - I looked over and saw this, and knew it was gonna be alright.  (Dean's comment:  "Barney has a stiffy.")

In December 2010, it was comforting to see this switch-plate on the wall during a stressful situation.  Our eleven-year old son was undergoing an emergency procedure for his front tooth, which had been knocked out while we were traveling.  When my husband, who’d been in a pretty wretched mood, saw the switch-plate on the wall of the exam/operating room we were in, and commented that Barney was apparently happy to see us all*, I knew EVERYTHING WAS GONNA BE OKAY.  (*The exact quote, I believe, was, “Barney’s got a stiffy.”  Also, our son’s tooth could not be saved, but they built him a nice new one, almost a work of art.  And as we know, it’s most important to save the KID, not the tooth.  Also, BTW, if you lose a tooth, put it in milk and get thee to an emergency dental office.  If it’s whole and intact, they might be able to “re-implant” it in the deserving mouth.  If it’s a partial tooth, it’s not likely to be salvaged much as anything beyond a bizarre pendant!)

This tree is on the Shenipsit (blue) trail near my house.  An eye pattern was inherent in the bark, and every time I walked by the tree, I wanted to draw on it.  So I did.  I used a Spanish phrase I used to repeat a lot in high school.  It means "be polite".

This tree is on the Shenipsit (blue) trail near my house in CT. An eye pattern was inherent in the bark, and every time I walked by the tree, I wanted to draw on it. So I did. Below the “eye”, I added a Spanish phrase I used to repeat a lot in high school. It means “be polite”.

This entry was posted in Artwork, Funny Irreverent Stuff, Serious Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

