My Driveway’s (Still) A Country Road

(inspired by John Denver’s “Thank God I’m A Country Boy”, and my driveway)

Well, you can’t live in a house, and lots o’ money lack
‘Cause there’s always something breakin’ or-a goin’ off the track
When you look out my front window, not much pavement – mostly crack!
My driveway’s a country road.

Well, walkin’ to my mailbox is like walkin’ on a farm
The driveway’s bumps and holes will surely do you lots of harm
I won’t try to convince you that it’s full of rustic charm
My driveway’s a country road.

My driveway was a-blasted through a bunch of big old stones
To hike it every day would turn the girls right into crones
If you ride down it real fast, it means you’ve got some big cojones
My driveway’s a country road.

My daddy played the fiddle but he didn’t have my house
If he ever saw my driveway, he most certainly would grouse,
“It’s shameful when your asphalt is much worse than the Town’s!”
My driveway’s a country road.

If you came upon my driveway in a fancy limousine
It’d prob’ly crack in half and then go on and just careen
Into one of two huge boulders that are really, just plain mean!
My driveway’s a country road.

So, I talked to some contractors, got myself a nice big quote
For less money, could go out and buy myself a big-ass boat
And sail it ’round my castle in a newly dug moat
My driveway’s a country road.

© 2014  J.G. Rapoza

A shorter version of this poem was originally published at my blog three years ago.  The driveway is still a mess.

A shorter version of this poem was originally published at my blog three years ago. The driveway is still a mess.

This entry was posted in Funny Irreverent Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

